Mpls. Cop, 35, Undergoes Kidney Transplant

WCCO | CBS Minnesota

MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) – A Minneapolis Police officer battling lupus and kidney failure received a life-changing transplant this week.

Carlos Escobar, 35, is recovering at Hennepin County Medical Center. He spent two years on a waiting list for a kidney donation.

After working a full day as a police officer, he would come home and spend seven hours on dialysis, hoping and praying a donor would come through.

“I never expected it to be too soon because they told me with my blood type, it could be seven years,” Escobar said

With no matches in his family, a friend convinced him to post his story on Facebook.

“I had no expectations,” he said.

He did so reluctantly, and less than two weeks ago he got the call that changed his life.

“I didn’t know what to say. My jaw just dropped,” he said. “I was almost in tears, you know. I…

View original post 162 more words

Leave a Reply

