BABY RAPPERS

a deliberate imagination

Image

It occurred to me on a car ride home one evening, as Bad Gal Ri Ri’s voice was so graciously depicting her kinship with monsters living under her bed, that I have been listening to the lyrical genius that is Marshall Mathers aka Eminem aka Slim Shady since the release of the Slim Shady LP in 1999. Now, let’s all conduct a barfing motion in unison as we let the fact that 1999 was fifteen years ago sink in. Are we done yet? Okay. Fifteen years ago I was ten, going on eleven, reciting the poetic verses of “My Name Is” and “Guilty Conscience” better than I could the Pledge of Allegiance or Hail Mary. At that point in my life I would have been attending Catholic School for six years, so that is saying a lot. Did I have any clue what I was singing (rapping)? Of course not…

View original post 663 more words

Leave a Reply

